Welcome!

I’m an investigative reporter and radio reporter for the Texas Tribune and the Center for Investigative Reporting’s new radio show and podcast, Reveal.

That’s a long job description! Basically, what I do is report enterprise and investigative stories on a variety of topics in Texas. Along with my pen and notepad, I’ve usually got my giant headphones on, plus a microphone with a big fuzzy screen on it and my audio recorder. And my work appears in the Texas Tribune as well as on Reveal.

I fell in love with journalism as a reporting intern at The Blade in Toledo, OH. I then worked as an intern at the Dallas Morning News and the Boston Globe. After graduating college, I was a fellow for the Connecticut News Project, where I spent time as a reporter for the Mirror, WNPR/Connecticut Public Radio, and the New Haven Independent. Most recently, I was a joint reporter for the Connecticut Mirror (ctmirror.org) and Connecticut Public Radio.

I moved to Austin in July 2013 to work as the Texas Tribune’s environment reporter, where I got to kayak down the Rio Grande, watch rare birds perform their mating dance in the middle of a ranch in the wee hours of the morning, take a boat ride on a lake covered in white powder, and more. I continued my interest in radio reporting by doing all of those stories for the Texas Tribune and KUT Austin, our local public radio station.

Now, I’m combining my love of radio and investigative reporting and bringing the Texas Tribune’s work to a national audience. In the past seven months, I’ve reported and produced stories about the monster hurricane that will one day hit Houston, heartbreaking examples of segregation in Texas public schools, and the grisly case of a headless body found in South Texas that led investigators to implicate a border patrol agent.

Along with journalism, music has always been a big part of my life. In college I was a member of the Yale Glee Club and I’ve been playing the piano since I was six. Here in Austin, I play keyboard, sing backup, and sometimes shake a maraca for the band Willy Chapel.

You can read more about me and my work in the “Clips,” “Resume,” “My Work” sections of this web page. Thanks for visiting!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

